en savoir sur mes goûts

Another website has asked about my preference in music.

From Brubeck, Mulligan to Bob Dylan,   Paul Simon,   Talking Heads, Elvis Costello, America,  Eagles, and others.

More often than not, NY duo Fagan & Becker with their  LA feel

“Drive west on Sunset to the sea.  Turn that jungle music down, just until we’re out of town……”

 

Melody is important and when combined with some narrative lyrics, all the better.

Pat Metheny /Bowie collaboration ‘This is not America’ clip below  is evocative.  The film is worth a look at too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJRF8xGzvj4&feature=related

from EMI America Stereo promotional video of the film  The Falcon and the Snowman

 

Moving down the I. 95 to Philadelphia

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjG4vHo0i9A

 

 

Today  musician and album titles are harder to decipher from each other but interesting work has evolved…..

Listen to Chill Downbeat

http://www.jango.com/stations/263763501/tunein?gcid=10&l=0

I recommend

Teardrop  from Massive Attack

L’horrizonte by  Climatic

4 Am    Kaskade

Femme d’argent by  Air

Ananda by         Animayá      

Listen to Zero 7 with vocalist  Sia Furler

“The journey’s long
And it feels so bad
I’m thinking back to the last day we had.
Old moon fades into the new
Soon I know I’ll be back with you
I’m nearly with you
I’m nearly with you……..

I’ll fly, I’ll fly home
I’ll fly home and I’ll fly home ”

Try Summer Lounge on Jango while you’re at it.

Another website enquires of other tastes. Women?  Little make-up and affectation are magnetic.
Those whose style is simple, skirts, dresses, and flat shoes. Stilettos after dark is an option.  What is common femininity along the North African coast into the Middle East and on to the Orient is less so in the West.  One could say apparently less so but it is evidently less.

They who caught the eye if not the foolish heart (mostly unrequited) across the western world from Santa Monica to Berlin, south to Maroc have been primarily women who knew how to return a smile.  A genuine smile.

Which prompts an ole favourite

‘Haitian Divorce’

‘when she smiled, she said it all’

 

 

 

 

 Incidentally, due to the passage of time some links may have gone a.w.o.l (or without my permission to leave at least)due to a small matter of copyright.   I guess some algorithm is in place which deletes use of YouTube on WordPress. 

 If links are unavailable due to Code 404-the problem is slightly different.  It’s the web’s shifting sands. Links are often like modern business, here today-gone tomorrow.  Then again in some cases the fault is due to editorial laziness.  I must try to re-read and re-write. 

About Maurice O'Sullivan Aherne

As to the Gravatar inquiry which asks 'About Me' ? There is a life sustaining atmosphere. If they meant ...a description; there is more than the fraction shared online.
This entry was posted in NOT ONLY, BUT ALSO..... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.