Barcelona y Barça

I was at the  Camp Nou (without camera again) but I did get my hand on the European Cup. I have a tendency of late to touch fossils, fissures, statues, and historic symbols across the western world.  As an ageing mortal, I reckon it must be a search for some sort of permanence.

Touching the EC of EUFA  is not hard if you pay an extra fee.  I did so without extra taxation by smiling at the lady guide and by doing so, I had a quick one.  I mean I touched the cup.   

Across the city to the Olympic Stadium (all the rage in 1992-but not so much in 2012)home of rival city club RCD Espanyol.

pic credit: MOSAherne

Either early or too late.

 Photo taken by kind tourist of me and stadium.  I modestly spare you of my image

 

 

 

 Still on a sport…..

How did London win the O bid?

     http://www.cracked.com/article_19932_5-creepy-things-london-did-to-prepare-olympics.html

 london olympics

 

 Was it the promise of urban renewal or of feral youth converting to track athletics? 

The first O event  I was aware of was in 1964.  Chewing-gum packets included collectible tin badges of Tokyo.  It was fascinating.  The world together!  We were all one in sports .  As glory has been replaced by glitter I’m much less captivated in the last few decades.   I watched Los Angeles 1984! 

I had the chance as late as July 10 2012 to buy what looked like sensibly priced tickets for a London Olympic  event.  No it wasn’t table tennis!   It was in fact volleyball.  Women’s volleyball!   Not beach volleyball but still it was balls and athletically earnest women. 

 The ticket being £20 would hint that a telescope might be needed but hey it’s all about being there.  Right?

Then I read the regulations for attendance.  Hours of security checks and then nothing to eat or drink unless you like your burger and fries paid by credit card.

No thanks! 

 

London is super and vibrant and always worth a visit.  I didn’t need it served up with the hulabaloo of Olympic big business. The first O event  I was aware of was in 1964.  Chewing-gum tin badges of Tokyo.  It was great to know the world and it’s nations were together!  We were all one in sports .  

 As glory has been replaced by glitter in the last few decades I’m much less captivated.   The last time I watched with any measure of enthusiasm was Los Angeles 1984! 

 Alas it’s largely the same for other sporting events. 

 

About Maurice O'Sullivan Aherne

As to the Gravatar inquiry which asks 'About Me' ? There is a life sustaining atmosphere. If they meant ...a description; there is more than the fraction shared online.
This entry was posted in BUT ALSO....., NOT ONLY. Bookmark the permalink.