London calling…..

First time  was in 1962.  Of course I was amazed.  I was 6.   Last time 2010.

Actually May 2010, or the ballot closing night of a UK general election.  We were diverted from Munich due to the Eyjafjallajöku volcanic eruption and I enquired whether the large queue at terminal Gatwick were there to vote. ( I entertain the crowds.)  Samuel Johnson sometime earlier may have said some nonsense about being tired of life if one was tired of London.  I was just tired.

However in previous times when London was the chosen destination it absorbed.  One cannot go down Whitehall without feeling and knowing that this was the centre of the  largest Empire in history, once. for a brief time.

 

Downing St. Whitehall. Yes Minister, I have it on good authority that the War Office was pleased with your report.

Lunch Hour

Lunch Hour

Will I go back to my job at the BBC?

Will I go back to my job at the BBC?

Portland Square 1997. The new Broadcasting House you will see nightly on your flat screens. Very modern Blue -lit Horseshoe shape by conjoining the 1932 building with developments to the right of this picture. Impressive.

DocImage000000039 DocImage000000040 DocImage000000041 DocImage000000042 DocImage000000043 DocImage000000044 DocImage000000047 DocImage000000048

Winding my way down Baker St,. Elementary Watson!

Winding my way down Baker St,. Elementary Watson!

Horseguards. Obviously not the Queen's birthday today.

Horseguards. Obviously not the Queen’s birthday today.

Carnaby St. pub crawl

Carnaby St. pub crawl

 

It's a living at the Circus

It’s a living at the Circus

 

Picadilly. it's a long way. Aldwich Theatre and Lilliwhites.

Picadilly. It’s a long way to Aldwich Theatre

 

Never missed a chance to ride the RouteMasters. Ye can't do it now!

Never missed a chance to ride the RouteMasters. Ye can’t do it now!

London Red bus passes show roomed gilded Mc Laren at Park Lane.

London Red bus passes show roomed gilded Mc Laren at Park Lane.

 

Yes it is.

Yes it is.

 

Need I say more

Need I say more?

 

I expect Mr. Martin is waiting. excuse me-Sir George.

I expect Mr. Martin is waiting. excuse me-Sir George.

 

This way -Paul Ringo Mick and Keith are have a cuppa.

This way -Paul Ringo Mick and Keith are have a cuppa.

OK.  See you later.

Locals strolling back from shop in St John's Wood.

Locals strolling back from shop in St John’s Wood.

But Tony has called for me to get back to 10 Downing St.

 

 

Could you drop the barrier old chap?

COPYRIGHT.  MAURICE AHERNE. 

About Maurice O'Sullivan Aherne

As to the Gravatar inquiry which asks 'About Me' ? There is a life sustaining atmosphere. If they meant ...a description; there is more than the fraction shared online.
This entry was posted in NOT ONLY, BUT ALSO..... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.